Hymn: The Church’s One Foundation

I am a person filled with doubts, especially in the summer where, as a university student, I have more time to think and reflect on what I believe and why. They are strong doubts, doubts that at times can almost make me cry in despair. I so desperately mirror the cry in Mark 9:24, “I believe; help my unbelief!” and in many ways, God has helped to answer this continual prayer. Nonetheless, I am still so often saddened by what seems to me, to be a lack of the virtue of faith (though faith being a virtue is a gift from God himself) and so often my loneliness in confronting these doubts (probably wrongly) alone [1]. Yet, through all doubt, this one hymn has calmed my heart for the Church’s one foundation is indeed Jesus Christ my Lord.

This hymn calms me because it reminds me first and foremost that the Church is made of broken and destitute people of this earth. Jesus tells us that it is the poor in spirit that inherits the kingdom of heaven, and what is the kingdom of heaven but the church itself in that moment when our Saviour and Lord returns? No matter how broken she may seem, or how much I might, at times, hate her, the Church is truly the ἐκκλησία (ekklesia) — the ones called — and made of equally broken people working towards that eventual final realization of that kingdom of God. Therefore this hymn comforts me in that, while I may doubt the Church and all that are therein, God has called the Church, and with Christ as its foundation, it shall ever be my home. We are his new creation by water and the Word.

I rest my hope in the Church for she has been founded upon that one sure foundation, Christ, as the cornerstone and indeed the gates of hell shall not prevail against her. She has been united by that one faith, one Lord, and one baptism, by that one God and Father of all and She nourishes me and yet all the while looking towards the final realization of peace in that second coming.

This hymn sums up everything I believe and cherish about the Church and why I continue to remain with and in her though all doubts, for I, a member of the ekklesia surely have Christ as that foundation that can carry me through all the doubts and all the wrongs in this world. This hymn brings me to tears, not because of that previous doubt, but because it has so comforted them and reminds me of everything that I have placed my faith in and that there is one, holy, catholic, and apostolic Church that I belong to and that Christ will return to.

The Church’s one foundation
Is Jesus Christ her Lord,
She is His new creation
By water and the Word.
From heaven He came and sought her
To be His holy bride;
With His own blood He bought her
And for her life He died.

She is from every nation,
Yet one o’er all the earth;
Her charter of salvation,
One Lord, one faith, one birth;
One holy Name she blesses,
Partakes one holy food,
And to one hope she presses,
With every grace endued.

[]

[1] Alone because of the nature of Evangelical churches causes an undue fear of judgement. I would say the claim of intellectualism is somewhat true. Alone also because they arent commonly asked questions, and I am always hesitant to derail the faith of those I love.

 

Leave a Reply

