What does it mean to be Christian?

Lately I’ve been thinking more about this question, and I think I’ve come up with an [unsatisfactory] answer that shows what I think it means to be Christian.

To be Christian means that I have been bought with a price and that price is the blood of Jesus Christ which has been shed for me and for many for the remission of sins; that I have died with and in Christ, and by union with him, have also resurrected to new life; that I have been called to be a disciple, to take up my cross daily and follow after him, to be perfect even as our Father is perfect, and to love others as Christ first loved us for who the Son sets free is free indeed. It means that I have been joined with those called out, the ekklesia, the Church, which is the Body of Christ and that I am not of this world because my citizenship is in heaven, from where I look for a saviour the Lord Jesus Christ, who is working with the holy spirit to change my vile body from one form of glory to another. Therefore, to live is Christ and to die is gain and in the last days, I will become a partaker of the divine nature and share with Christ in glory forever and ever to the glory of God.

Leave a Reply

